jump to navigation

Have you ever wondered how long it would take… August 1, 2006

Posted by Joshua Martin in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yay, something to post about! Yesterday I had an audition for the COACH drama class. I did make it into the class but, It didn’t go as well as I would have wanted it to. When I did my monologue, after saying the first line, my mind went blank. I was able to remember the next line but only after what seemed like a very long pause. Then, I forgot the line after that, and the line after that! That continued throughout the whole first half of the monologue. I was able to do the last half much better, but it was still not as well as I did it right before we left to got to the audition. I guess it is just different when you are doing it in front of someone. Well, at least I did make it into the class.

Now for the title of the post:

Have you ever wondered how long it would take four people to put a whole set of Trivial Pursuit cards in numerical order from 1 to 1,000? Well, we figured it out… Yesterday my sisters decided to do that, so I joined in to help them. It was much faster and easier than I thought it would have been. First we separated them into stacks of 100s then, separated those by 10s, ordered each card in the piles of ten, ordered every pile of ten into stacks of one hundred, and last of all we ordered each stack of one hundred into the two boxes of five hundred. It was much faster than I thought it would have taken. It took less than 50 minutes to order them, and that time seemed to pass very quickly.

So, now you know the next time you are organizing your Trivial Pursuit cards you can know that the average ordering speed is about 300 cards per person per hour (300cp₃h) 🙂

But it can still be faster than that. I ordered 300 cards in about 42 minutes which is about 430cph.

Comments»

1. Little Vince - August 2, 2006

lol I am indeed impressed. However, I’m not the type that orders hardly anything except for visual appeal. But I am still impressed. Your ordering prowess is far beyond mine. Maybe you could devise a game where you take two stacks of 100 and race to order them against someone else… and then you could each brag about your cards-per-hour (like “Dude, I was going like 500cph on that straightaway).

2. Joshua - August 2, 2006

hmm, that sounds like a good idea. It would go even faster with only 100 cards… I’ll have to try that…lol

3. Caleb Martin - August 2, 2006

I wasn’t aware Trivial Pursuit cards had a particular order.

4. Joshua - August 2, 2006

They have a little tiny number on the corner of them.

5. John - August 17, 2006

Brilliance! uh… I guess. ; ) Looking forward to COACH dude? I sure am. well… least…. not the school part. You any good at Geometry? I’m scared to death.

Later man,

John


Leave a Reply

